Sookie Stackhouse/Southern Vampire Series – Charlaine Harris

Sookie Stackhouse Box Set

From Dead to Worse - Latest Sookie Stackhouse novel

From Dead to Worse - Latest Sookie Stackhouse novel

Sookie Stackhouse Box Set

I just finished the entire 8 book series of the Sookie Stackhouse Series by Charlaine Harris.  If you haven’t read my other post on the subject, this is the series that True Blood on HBO is based on.  I tried to read it as the show was going and not get too ahead of myself, but I couldn’t stop once I started and I became so wrapped up in the bizarre world of Sookie.

Vampires, Werewolves, Shapeshifters, Fairies and other supernatural creatures surrounding a smalltown girl with a telepathic talent.  Loved it!  I’m only sad that there aren’t more left to read.  Though reading the authors’ posts, I don’t think she is finished with the series yet – so we can only hope to see more in the future.

I will say that watching True Blood was what had got me to start reading the books, but the show is only losely based on the characters and isn’t exactly the same.  Books are much better imo.  Some of the characters in the show aren’t exactly the characters in the books and vice versa.  But now that I’ve read the entire series, it’ll be interesting to see where the show goes.. but I can’t help but feel a little let down by how some of the show is written.  I’m hoping I can try to keep them separate and not feel too duped by the differences.

The same author has written some short stories in collaboration with other authors, so might have to check those out since I seemed to have found a new genre that is making a huge impact on my reading preferences.  Some of the short stories also have the same characters as the series and dives further into some of their pasts.  She also has written other series but right now I don’t know if I can move past Sookie.  However, I do need new reading material because right now it’s up there as my favorite pasttime – and let’s be honest, it’s not like I have anything else to do right now!  😀

~ by crazedveggie on November 17, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
