Twilight

Twilight

We went to see Twilight last night.  Twilight is the much anticipated movie based on the book of the same name by Stephanie Meyer.  I didn’t finish the book yet, only read the first chapter so far and that might have been my saving grace on seeing the movie.

I really liked it, minus a few let downs on the whole vampire front.  I also could have done without the 100 noisy teenage girls in the movie theater laughing at lame parts, giving a running commentary throughout the whole movie and just being, well, teenage girls.  But that was our own fault for going on opening weekend.  Let me just run through the good and the bad.

Good:

  • Robert Pattinson as Edward Cullen.  Loved him.  He was very dark and mysterious and looked like a teenage vampire should.
  • The whole vampire family aspect of it.  And they were a proper family trying to not be noticed as vampires, living as what they call vampire vegetarians (no humans), even playing baseball.
  • The love story.  It was a touching one and it reeled you in from the moment they first met with him trying to push her away because of his fear of what he was feeling.  He has a need to take care of her, and he does.
  • Left it open ended for more movies, which could turn into the next Harry Potter phenomenon.

The Bad:

  • No fangs!  Seriously?!  The vamps in the movie didn’t have fangs, even when they were in full on vamp mode.  Major let down.
  • Out in daylight.  I realize she’d have to make them go out in daylight so that he can attend school, otherwise they’d never meet.  But the whole “I turn into a sparkle gemstone in the sunlight” was a bit much, I would have rather him burn in the sunlight.
  • Needed more vamp action scenes with a bigger budget.  You felt slightly let down by the action scenes.  These are vampires here, powerful creatures that don’t just throw a few punches for heaven sakes.

At the end of the day, it is a love story so I guess if you just focus on that and let some of the rest of the crazy stuff that happens in the movie go, you can enjoy it as I did.

It will be interested to watch the rest of the movies play out, but next one, I’m going on the 2nd or 3rd week of opening to avoid all the “Cullen Crew” t-shirts I seen last night.

~ by crazedveggie on November 23, 2008.

Leave a comment