It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

Finally finished all my decorating.  I tend to go overboard with Christmas decorating, and this year is no different.  Pretty much every where you look in our house there’s some reminder that Christmas is just around the bend.

Starting with our Christmas tree in the living room.

tree1

Most of my ornaments are Merck Family’s Old World Christmas which are European mouth-blown fine glass ornaments, you can find a dealer here.  My sister and mom also collect them and we search for them year round.  I haven’t counted how many I have, but each year my collection grows.  It’s an awesome feeling to think that I’ll have something nice to pass down to my kids and them to theirs.

Here’s a few of my favs:

nativity-ornamentpeng-ornamentpeng-ornament2peng-ornament3pengsnowman-ornamentreindeer-ornamentsanta-elephant-ornamentsanta-ornamentsnow-couple-ornamentsnowman-ornamentwestie-ornamentpolar-bear-ornament

christmas-shelves

The best part about Christmas are traditions, whether they be new or old.  Things passed down from your parents or grandparents, things you may do for the holidays (one for us is always having polish pierogi and borscht on Christmas Eve) or items that you can always remember being around.  My mom gave me a few of her Christmas decorations when she was cleaning stuff out before we moved.  These are items I can remember being around at Christmas time when I was a kid and I cherish them with all my heart.

carolersangelsangelelves

The best thing I did this year was my Winter Scene.  When we were kids, my mom had some little houses made of paper that she used to put under the tree.  They were old, from the 40’s and 50’s.  She actually hated them, they were her mother’s and when she was a kid she used to lay under the tree and poke all the cellophane windows out (lol), but I always liked them and when I heard she threw them away I set out on a misson to find some vintage ones at flea markets and antique shops.  I always looked, but never found any.  One day I stumbled upon a little shop in the downtown Apex area.  They had some reproductions and I snagged them up!  My mom also got me two last year for Christmas so I came up with an idea in my head to create this scene on our dining room buffet cabinet and I have to admit, it came out even better than I had imagined.  I intended to make pin ornaments for the tree, but only finished 3 so that will have to be a next year project.  I did however make the little penguin you see in the scene.  🙂

winter-scenewinter-scene-1winter-scene-2

I take great pride in my decorating.  There aren’t many things I can do well, but this is really one of them that I can sit back and be pleased at what I did.  It’s nice to see familar things around even if you might not always see familar faces.  Christmas to me is all about family.  Whether you spend it with them or not, as long as you can remember the good times you’ve had together, they will always be in your hearts sharing the same thoughts.

Merry Christmas!

outside-christmas

~ by crazedveggie on December 5, 2008.

One Response to “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…”

  1. Just ran into Your blog. You did a wonderful job with the decorations. I noticed You mentioned You search for Old World Christmas ornaments all year long. You may want to take a look at Our Website, we carry Merck’s Family Old World Christmas, we may even have something You haven’t run into before 🙂

    Have a Wonderful Christmas!

    http://www.thevillageshop.net

Leave a Reply

 
